Track champions Cody McPherson and Dave Bailey end successful seasons in victory lane

Merrittville Speedway’s 71st season ended Saturday under a full moon and with stars of the track racing circuit celebrating in victory lane.

Track champions Cody McPherson, in Sportsman; and Dave Bailey, Hoosier Stocks, Thorold’s 8-cylinder track racing class; won their eighth and 10th features, respectively, in the two extra-distance races in the five-division program.

McPherson quickly became the favorite after earning the green flag third in the field of 24. The St. Catharines rider, who also won the speedway Sportsman title last season, set the tone until the end, but was resisted Adam Leslie’s challenge. after a restart with six laps to go in the 50 lap feature for a photo-finish win.

Bailey, of Hagersville, started the 8-cylinder main event – ​​also 50 laps – 11th in the starting lineup. While a restart with seven laps to go erased a lead of more than seven seconds, that didn’t stop the night from finishing in the winner’s circle. This year Bailey also won the Thunder Stocks Championship at Ohsweken Speedway.

Dunnville’s Ryan Turner led a field of 15 across the finish line as the Southern Ontario Sprints tour visited Merrittville for the third time this season.

Clinton Barrick of Port Colborne and Dustin Duga of Welland rounded out the feature film winners. Barrick took its third win of the season in the 4-cylinder class while Duga made it a six-for-six V6, the entry-level speedway class.

The 358 Modified and Mod Lite racing teams had the night off.

A 100-lap enduro and school bus demolition derby are among the highlights of a Wreckfest program presented by Tim Hortons. The show starts at 6 p.m.

Monsters of Merrittville, presented by 97.7 HTZ-FM, hits the track on Saturday, September 24 for shows starting at 1 p.m. and 7 p.m. Along with six monster trucks, Pro Rider Freestyle Motocross will be featured, along with several stunt shows.

Tickets are available online at They can also be purchased at the Big Scoop Ice Cream Shop at the northeast corner of the highway parking lot at the corner of Merrittville Highway and Holland Road.

Here are the top five finishers and round winners of Saturday’s race schedule at Merrittville Speedway in Thorold:

Right Choice Auto & Leisure DIRTcar Sportsman, 50 laps: 1. Cody McPherson, 2. Adam Leslie, 3. Brad Rouse, 4. Brent Begolo, 5. Rob Knapp. Round winners: McPherson, Billy Bleich Jr., Leslie. Inputs: 24.

Southern Ontario Sprints, 25 laps: 1. Ryan Turner, 2. Mitch Brown, 3. Liam Martin, 4. Cory Turner, 5. Jim Huppenen. Round winners: Kyle Phillips, Martin. Inputs: 15.

Hoosier Stocks, 50 spins: 1. Dave Bailey, 2. Justin Ramsay, 3. Ryan Beagle, 4. Rob Murray, 5. Ken Sargent. Round winners: Zach Bleich, Pete Reid, Sargent. Inputs: 26.

Vansickle Pet Valu/PV on the Lane 4-Cylinders, 20 laps: 1. Clinton Barrick, 2. Trevor DeBoer, 3. Leroy Buscumb, 4. Matt Christie, 5. Austyn Werstroh. Round winners: Sam Iftody, Buscumb, John Lubeck. Inputs: 27.

V6, 12 turns: 1. Dustin Duga, 2. Jeff Marsh, 3. Zach Dmytrow, 4. Nick Hoffman, 5. Joe Cushman. Round winner: Duga. Inputs: 5.

Follow the conversation: Gary Lindberg, 358 edited; Nelson Mason, sportsman; Ryan Beagle, Thunder Stocks; Rodney Rutherford, Mini Stocks; were the Friday Night Ohsweken Feature Winners … Mat Williamson, 358 Edited; Brett Senek, athlete; Simon Bissell, Street Stock; Ryan Plante, Mini Stock; set the tone at Ransomville Speedway, also Friday night.

About Frances R. Smith

Check Also

AHRMA Releases 2023 Road Racing Schedule – Roadracing World Magazine

AHRMA Announces 2023 Road Race Schedule (November 4, 2022, Knoxville, TN) – The American Historic …