Kyron Bacon extends his lead over A4DE on day two


2022 – Erica (VIC) – Second day

Andrew Wilksch moved up the leaderboard on day two of competition in the Prestige Truck Center supported A4DE takes place this week in the hills surrounding the Victorian town of Erica.

Wilksch had been the fastest on day one but was relegated to sixth place after a one-minute penalty was added to his card after being judged for not following the correct procedures before the competition had even started on opening day of the A4DE.

On the big Husky FE501 Wilksch had finished that opening day 17 seconds ahead of 20-year-old Kyron Bacon from Tasmania in a WR250F. After the one-minute penalty was added, Wilksch came out of the first day 43 seconds behind Bacon.

Andrew Wilksch – Image Troy Pears

On the second day of competition, the 25-year-old Wilksch edged out all but the A4DE leader, 20-year-old Tasmanian Kyron Bacon.

Bacon may have finished second to Wilksch on the pitch (before Wilksch’s penalty was applied) on the opening day of the competition, but the youngster marked his authority on a very slippery second day by beating all comers for a brilliant outright win on Thursday.

Bacon Kyron

Sure, it’s only halfway there and anything can happen from here, but right now it’s a bit of a David and Goliath battle between Bacon and his E1 Shop Yamaha Offroad Racing Team WR250F vs. the booming E3 category Husky FE501 from Victorian Wilksch.

Bacon has already announced his breathtaking speed on the Australian enduro scene in the first rounds of the 2022 AORC, not only with a perfect series of E1 class victories in the first four AORC laps, but also outright wins on the WR250F against all comers. Bacon carried that speed into the A4DE and set the tone Thursday to underscore its potential for not only E1 victory, but absolute honors on the WR250F.

Bacon’s teammate Josh Green is in third place. However, while young Bacon is on the WR250F, 30-year-old Green leads the E2 class on a WR450F.

Josh Green – Picture Troy Pears

Although he is only 32 years old, Green is a mainstay of the Australian enduro scene and this year is his 16th appearance in the AORC, where he still dominates the E2 category of this competition in the 2022 season.

Thomas Mason rode his 300cc-equipped GASGAS MC250 with the fourth-fastest time on day two and moved up one spot in the overall standings to also place fourth behind Green. Mason is also enjoying the unofficial two-part honors so far.

Todd Waters had finished third at the end of day one, but slipped to fifth at the end of an incredibly slippery second day, but remains second in the E2 class on the FE450 behind Green. Waters is doing double duty this year, competing in both motocross in the 2022 ProMX championship and competing AORC. Just days ago Waters finished fourth in the MX1 class at Wodonga, so it was a quick turnaround for the Queenslander to race his first-ever A4DE this week.

Korey McMahon shone on the slope on day two to propel himself from outside the top ten to sixth place in cumulative time aboard the GASGAS EC250F.

Cooper Sheidow also climbed the rankings on Thursday, rising from tenth place at the end of day one up to seventh place on a KTM 250 XC-F.

Stefan Granquist, riding the KTM 500 EXC-F, moved from fourth to eighth on Thursday and also saw his lead in the E3 class disappear as Wilksch and Mason improved.

Jeremy Carpentier

A4DE rookie Blake Hollis and fellow Yamaha rider Jeremy Carpentier finished day two holding ninth and tenth place, making it three WR250F machines in the top ten.

Among the women, Jessica Gardiner leads the way and is also 41st overall, but Emelie Karlsson is not far behind.

Jessica Gardiner – Image Troy Pears

A4DE ranking
Day one/two cumulative

  1. Kyron Bacon – Yamaha WR250F – 1:26:26.965
  2. Andrew Wilksch – Husqvarna FE501 – 1:27:31.559
  3. Josh Green – Yamaha WR450F – 1:27:32.430
  4. Thomas Mason – GASGAS MC250 – 1:28:29.718
  5. Todd Waters – Husqvarna FE450 – 1:28:54.716
  6. Korey McMahon – GASGAS EC250F – 1:29:10.559
  7. Cooper Sheidow – KTM 250 XC-F – 1:29:19.482
  8. Stefan Granquist – KTM 500 EXC-F – 1:29:35.051
  9. Blake Hollis – Yamaha WR250F – 1:29:36.740
  10. Jérémy Carpentier – Yamaha WR250F – 1:29:40.541
  11. Fraser Higlett – Beta RR 430 Racing – 1:30:13.342

A4DE E1 rating
Day one/two cumulative

  1. Bacon Kyron
  2. Korey McMahon
  3. Cooper Sheidow
  4. Blake Hollis
  5. Jeremy Carpentier

A4DE E2 rating
Day one/two cumulative

  1. Josh Green
  2. Todd Waters
  3. Fraser Higlet
  4. Brad Hardaker
  5. Treasure of Kaleb

A4DE E3 Rating
Day one/two cumulative

  1. Andrew Wilksch
  2. Thomas Mason
  3. Stephane Granquist
  4. Riley McGillivray
  5. Thomas McCormack

A4DE Women Ranking
Day one/two cumulative

  1. Jessica Gardiner
  2. Emilie Karlsson
  3. Ebony Nielsen
  4. Monique Simoni
  5. Julie Deyer

About Frances R. Smith

Check Also

AHRMA Releases 2023 Road Racing Schedule – Roadracing World Magazine

AHRMA Announces 2023 Road Race Schedule (November 4, 2022, Knoxville, TN) – The American Historic …