Dakshin Dare: TVS Racing’s Rajendra wins his first title

According to a press release received, the 35-year-old, riding a TVS Apache RTR 450FX, clinched his first title after beating fierce competition and adding one more trophy to the TVS Racing cabin.

The Shivamoga-born rider, who also triumphed in the Group A class up to 600cc, is a multiple national champion, having started his rally-raid career by winning the Group B class in the long version of the Dakshin Dare in 2017 ,

“I’m very happy to win the Dakshin Dare title. Although it’s a shortened version, the competition was high and I’m happy that the organizers managed the event despite the pandemic. With the support of TVS Racing, I look forward to looking forward to a fruitful 2022,” said Rajendra.

The popular cross-country rally which was restricted to two-wheelers this year saw a good response of over 36 bikes despite the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic and the challenging terrain proved only 23 completed the course.

With many national champions battling for honors in different classes, the four-day event saw riders cover over 300km of competitive off-road sections from Bengaluru Triple-S, a spectator stage and two loops of selective sections (SS) about 100kms each, around Chitradurga.

On day one, riders took to the country roads in the scenic foothills, amidst windmills near Hiriyur, while the flowing stretches near Challakere saw top guns reach speeds of 146km/h on the day. 2.

Sarath Mohan of Asura Garage of Malappuram came second overall while another champion Yuva Kumar of Hero MotoSports completed the podium and also took gold in his class, the Group B 166 to 260cc class.

Young Goutham topped Group B up to the 165 class while fellow veteran Aakash Aithal of Puttur won the Group B 261 400cc event.

Hero MotoSports stalwart Sathyaraj won the Group D section up to 260cc while Bengaluru’s Suhail Ahmed, a former multiple National Supercross champion, clinched the Bullet heavyweight class on a Himalayan.

Pinkesh Thakkar, an expert motocross champ, now riding a TVS NTorq, has conquered the Scooter class. Sachin D is one of the big names who crashed on Day 1.

“Since we ran the Dare on public roads, extra precautions were taken for rider safety and all COVID-19 protocols were in place. The riders enjoyed the smooth stages and I appreciate all the efforts of the officials and team who made the event a great success,” said Jaidas Menon, the promoter.

The Dakshin Dare for four-wheelers is scheduled for August 2022.



1. Rajendra RE (TVS Racing, Bangalore) (4 hours, 19 minutes, 23.561 seconds)

2. Sarath Mohan (Malapuram), (4:30:51.777)

3. Yuva Kumar (Hero MotoSports, Bangalore) (4:35:36.889).

Group A up to 600cc:

1. Rajendra RE (TVS Racing, Bangalore) (4:19:23.561)

2. Sarath Mohan, (4:30:51.777)

3. Sinan Francis (Kottayam) (4:46:50.773).

Group B up to 165cc:

1. Goutham (Bengaluru) (5:07:29.526)

2. Jithu (Kottayam) (5:11:16.870)

3. Manmeet Singh (Kolkata) (5:42:06.189).

Group B 166 to 260cc:

1. Yuva Kumar (Hero MotoSports, Bangalore) (4:35:36.889)

2. Karan Mohan (Bengaluru) (5:36:09.257);

3. Sachin D (Bengaluru) (TVS Racing) (DNF).

Group B 261 to 400cc:

1. Aakash Aithal (Mangalore) (4:55:12.360)

2. Uday Ganguli (Kolkota) (5:21:16.408)

3. Dwarith Manna (Kolkata) (5:41:18.873)

Group D: Up to 260 cc:

1. Satyaraj (Hero MotoSports, Bangalore) (4:45:30.605)

2. Pavan BK (Bengaluru) (4:46:31.400)

3. Karthik (Bengaluru) (5:04:02.545).

About Frances R. Smith

Check Also

AHRMA Releases 2023 Road Racing Schedule – Roadracing World Magazine

AHRMA Announces 2023 Road Race Schedule (November 4, 2022, Knoxville, TN) – The American Historic …